Advertisement

New 2022 Honda Civic Sedan Debuting Next Week In Prototype Form


Honda will officially unveil the new eleventh generation Civic in prototype form on November 17.

The compact car will be presented online on Twitch in a special event that will begin at 5 pm PST (8 pm EST / Nov 18 – 2:00 am CET), and the actual unveiling of the car set for 6:45 pm PST (9:45 pm EST / Nov 18 – 3:45 am CET).

Advertisement

The carmaker also dropped a teaser image and video, partially revealing the design of the model through a geometric looking glass, showing the reshaped grille, new headlamps with incorporated LED DRLs, and a much cleaner-looking back end.

Read Also: Next-Gen Honda Civic Type R Could Look Exactly Like This

The taillights have a similar shape to the Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan, albeit with different graphics, and the ‘Civic’ badge is now positioned above them, on the left side, next to the ‘Honda’ logo that still sits in the middle of the boot lid.

We don’t know anything about the engine lineup yet, but the current Civic Sedan is offered with the 158 HP naturally aspirated 2.0-liter four-cylinder unit. From the EX, power is supplied by a turbocharged 1.5-liter unit, rated at 174 HP and 162 lb-ft (219 Nm). The CVT is the only transmission available, but hopefully, that will change with the new generation.

The Civic Si will continue to be offered, likely with more power over the current 205 HP and 192 lb-ft (260 Nm) 1.5-liter turbo-four, while the Civic Type R hot hatch will remain the true range-topper of the series.

Honda will launch the all-new Civic Sedan in the United States in late spring, 2021, as a 2022 model.

 
















Updated: November 12, 2020 — 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement